The Palace of the Marquis of Dos Aguas, of gothic origin, opened as a state museum in 1954 after a major renovation. Since then, the building has undergone a comprehensive remodeling of its permanent exhibition galleries and daily faces important conservation challenges, due to its historical nature and its origin as a domestic space.
During the technical visit, there will be a tour of the main floor of the palace, highlighting issues such as lighting, climate control -with special attention to ventilation in post-COVID times-, as well as the conservation of historical flooring tiles and seating furniture.
The visit will end with an in-depth look at the technical difficulties of maintenance and conservation of the Baroque monumental alabaster portal, perhaps the most unique element of the building.
Poeta Querol 2 (Office Entrance)